How to stop using chocolate for solving all your problems

This is a post for all the women out there. When it’s time to drown yourself in sorrow and chocolate, don’t panic – I am a girl who is just like that. But I don’t want to be that girl anymore. And that is why I looked up all sorts of ways to stop using chocolate for solving all my problems. I was surprised to find the internet full of tips, even for something like this!

This is a summary of the tips I found extremely useful. I hope they will do for you what they did for me, and I hope they give you some new options to work with next time you get caught in a stressful situation <3.

1. Recognise the problem. More often than not, I realise I was comfort eating after I already chunked that bar of chocolate.  Sometimes a bad experience or stress from work can sneak up on us, leaving us unaware of how stressed we are – until it shows in our reactions. Are you having a difficult period in your life/month/week? Are certain things making you stressed? Sometimes just realising this helps you prevent comfort eating because you recognise the real emotions hiding behind it.

2. Make an overview of the chain of events. Exhibit A: I eat chocolate for a better mood. Sugar in chocolate causes mood swings. After eating chocolate I feel a sugar high, followed by a sugar low. To correct the sugar low, I eat chocolate for a better mood. – See what’s wrong with this picture? If I wasn’t eating chocolate in the first place, I would have no sugar lows – or would find more constructive and long term solutions for my poor mood – and hence wouldn’t feel the need to eat something again to make me feel happier and on a sugar high. I think it would save me a lot of time, calories and mood swings to just skip the chocolate in the first place. Write down your chain of events – is it a vicious circle? Realising this might help you break it!

good laugh and a long sleep

Wise words, don’t you think?

3. Think of alternatives. When you grab junk food to comfort your feelings, what is your body actually telling you? Is it hungry, tired or upset? Is it overworked, overwhelmed or confused? What does your body actually need at that moment? Is it rest, relaxation or action? Try thinking of alternatives to solve whatever your body is feeling. By addressing the underlying issue with an alternative comforting solution you will find that your craving for comfort food will go away – it’s called comfort food for a reason.

Sometimes a cozy space and a good view are all you need!

Sometimes a good view is all you need to just relax.

4. Treat yourself to what you deserve. By this, I don’t mean a bar of chocolate. I mean love and respect. Junk food is not love for your body. It’s harm and it makes your body need to work twice as hard to remain healthy. All this in time of stress, when your body actually needs extra support. Treat your body to something nice, especially in times of stress. Green leafy vegetables, multi color fruit salads and healthy meals help your body get through a rough time. Treat your body with the love it deserves and you’ll probably end up noticing a big positive change in the rest of your life too!

Albert-Einstein-WOMEN Quote

If all else fails, try making some of the healthy alternatives instead of turning to junk food for comfort, the Desserts section could be of some help!

 

EXTRA LINKS about emotional eating:

Stop using food to cope with stress

How to recognise and stop emotional eating

Honor your emotional eating

 

FUNKY EXTRA LINKS about happiness, food and weight loss:

Robert Holden Happiness Documentary

11 intelligence killing foods

16 ways to lose weight fast

 

About ana's bananas

Food should be healthy, pure and delicious. I am a medical student and I here to turn your kitchen into a tastebuds heaven - all with benefits for you health!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

